The ancient church has a wide history. It was once part of a large and important monastery belonging to monks of the Benedictine order.
In the 11th century, these monks arrived in York and built a monastic church, which is mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086.
They covered 7 acres with a large monastic complex, and right at the heart of this is the beautiful priory church.
During medieval times, the actor’s scripts for the famous York Corpus Christi or Mystery Plays were kept in the church. This annual theatre performance was started at the priory gateway. The plays told the story of the bible and were performed by the guild or trades of York.
The extensive complex of the monastic building did not survive after the Dissolution of the Monasteries, in the 16th century, however is was allowed to continue as a parish church. The church’s size has now down-sized by a half.
The Church of Holy Trinity is the only former monastic building to have survived as a place of worship in York.
Weekly worship are still offered in the church.
See the beautiful sites in the church, the great east window, The Organ, The Burton Memorial, The Chancel, The trinity Sculpture, Nave Pillars, The Walker Memorial and much more.